Oregon Department of Justice

Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Assistance Fund

VOCA Competitive Funding Opportunity

2014-2016 VOCA Competitive Request for Application (RFA) will be released on April 7th, 2014 and will close on May 19th, 2014.

VOCA Overview

Victims of Crime Act of 1984 (VOCA) is the only federal grant program supporting direct assistance services to victims of all types of crimes. VOCA funds are allocated annually to Oregon and are sub-granted to victim service organizations throughout the state to extend and enhance services to victims of crime. These organizations provide essential, often life-saving, services, such as emergency shelter and safety, crisis intervention, assistance in obtaining protective orders and filing compensation applications, counseling, advocacy, helping crime victims navigate the criminal justice system and more.

Funds are allocated through a non-competitive and competitive process based on the availability of funds. There are 4 federally required priority categories and each state must earmark a minimum of 10% of its annual allocation. They are:

1) child abuse;

2) sexual assault;

3) domestic violence; and

4) “previously underserved” victim populations.

Additionally, the Oregon VOCA Advisory Committee designated a fifth category which also must meet the 10% allocation minimum:

5) General Victims Services.

An agency must meet all of the following federal requirements to receive VOCA funds:

  • Demonstrate a record of providing effective direct services to crime victims;
  • Meet program match requirement;
  • All grantees must utilize volunteers to provide or support direct services;
  • Promote coordinated public and private efforts to assist victims;
  • Assist victims in seeking crime victim compensation benefits;
  • Provide services to crime victims, at no charge, through the VOCA funded project;
  • Maintain confidentiality;
  • Provide services to victims of federal crime on the same basis as victims of state crime;
  • Maintain required civil rights information; and
  • Meet the terms of the Certified Assurances, Special Conditions and other federal rules regulating grants.

For more information please see a brief history of VOCA.

Grant Fund Coordinator contact information assigned to specific programs can be found at: Fund Coordinators Across the State.

Grant Fund Coordinator contact information:

Cathy Relang, Fund Coordinator
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096

Grant Specialist contact information:

Krista Anderson, Grant Specialist
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096

Caitlin Brown, Grant Specialist
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096