Oregon Department of Justice

Rape and Sexual Assault

Sexual assault and sexual abuse take many different forms. By definition, sexual assault is any type of sexual encounter without a person's consent including:

  • Rape

  • Attempted rape

  • Child molestation

  • Inappropriate touching

  • Incest (sexual contact between family members)

  • Voyeurism (when someone watches private sexual acts)

  • Indecent exposure

  • Sexual harassment

Sexual assault can happen to women, children and men. But no matter who a victim is, sexual assault is never their fault — no matter where or how it happens.

If you have been sexually assaulted get away from your attacker to a safe place and call 9-1-1 immediately. Go to your nearest hospital emergency room as soon as possible. Medical professionals are trained to screen you for sexually transmitted infections and pregnancy and to collect evidence that your attacker may have left behind. Victims of sexual assault are eligible to have the cost of these services paid for by the Sexual Assault Victims Emergency (SAVE) Fund if they go to a hospital within 7 days of an assault.

Hospital staff can also help a victim get in touch with a rape crisis center or counselor who will help a victim make decisions about reporting the attack to law enforcement.

For more information contact a shelter or rape crisis center near you or call the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1-800-656-HOPE.

For related information see Domestic Violence and Stalking.