How is a child support order established?

After any paternity issues are settled, the Oregon Child Support Program will determine if there are any existing child support orders between the parties for the child in Oregon, another state, tribe, or country. If no child support order exists, the Program can take steps to establish an administrative child support order.

Discovery

If the Program is going to establish a child support order, we will take the following steps:

- 1. Contact the parents and, if necessary, take steps to locate them
- 2. Confirm the parents' contact and financial information
- Obtain evidence or documentation that will be used to calculate the child support amount (daycare costs, union dues, direct payments, parenting time agreements, etc.)
 - » The discovery process usually takes 30 to 40 days, but the timeframe depends on your case and circumstances

Issue Proposed Order

We use information gathered during discovery to prepare a proposed chid support order. The child support guidelines are the basis for establishing fair and appropriate child support obligations for Oregon's families and children. See more on our website at oregonchildsupport.gov.

Oregon Department of Justice

Oregon Child Support Program

Supporting Parents to Support Children



Establishment



800-850-0228

OregonChildSupport.gov



Establishment

Establishment is the process of determining paternity (legal fatherhood) or the process of obtaining a court or administrative order for child support.

For additional information on establishing paternity, see the Paternity & Parentage brochure.



How can I establish a child support order?

You can get a child support order in one of the following ways:

- » File directly in court through an attorney or using self-help forms
- » Apply for child support services with the Oregon Child Support Program if you are a parent or caretaker
- » Receive child support services from the Oregon Child Support Program because a state agency referred your case to us because your child is receiving public assistance from the State of Oregon

Service of Process

The proposed order must be served on the parties to give you and the other party notice of the proposed action. Each party has 30 days to respond from the day they were served.

Response Options

You have several options once you are served with the proposed order. You may:

- 1. Object to the proposed order
 - » If the proposed order contains inaccurate or outdated information, you may contact your case manager to discuss it. If appropriate, your case manager may issue an amended proposed order.
 - » If your case manager is unable to address your objections, you may formally request a telephonic hearing with an administrative law judge

- 2. Agree to the proposed order
 - » If the parties agree to the proposed order, you or the other party can contact us to sign consent forms to finalize the order
- 3. Provide no response
 - » If neither you nor the other party responds within 30 days, we will finalize the proposed order

This entire process takes about 30 to 120 days, but that could vary depending on your family's needs. If a party does not agree with the finalized order filed with the court, they may appeal the order in court.

When will my child support order start?

Child support orders legally begin when the order is finalized. Child support accrual begins on the first day of the month following the date the order is made final.

