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Intergovernmental Case Modification

If either parent lives outside of Oregon,

the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act

provides guidance to determine which state

is responsible for modifying a child support Oregon Department of Justice

order. Timelines may vary. Oregon Child Support Program

For more information about interstate

cases, visit oregonchildsupport.gov. SM Or.h'n —‘Pﬂlren'l' g
pporing
to Support Children

SNOILVOI4IdOIN

Incarcerated Parents Ordered to

Pay Support

If a parent who pays child support in Oregon
is, or is expected to be, confined in a
correctional facility for at least 180 days, they
are presumed unable to pay child support.

»  Either party can notify us of incarceration

»  Within 30 days of learning of the
incarceration, the Program will take steps
to suspend support

»  If the other parent objects, a hearing
will be scheduled

»  After the parent has been released for
at least 120 days, the support order is
automatically reinstated at 50% of the
previously ordered support amount

If your order was modified to zero prior to
January 1, 2018, different rules apply. Orders
that were modified to zero due to a parent’s
incarceration will automatically reinstate

at the previous amount on the 61st day
following the parent’s release. If your order
was established in another state, different

rules may apply. 800-850-0228

Oregon Department of Justice

OregonChildSupport.gov Oregon Child Support Program



Modificatione

A modification is a process to change
periodically a child support order so it
complies with the guidelines or to change
an order due to a change of circumstances.
Modifications can be completed
administratively by the Program or by

a court and usually cause the support
amount to increase or decrease.

S+e:]>g to modifying a current
order for child gw.P]:or’r

1. Requesting a Modification

Submit a written request to review and
modify a child support order if:

» It’s been at least 35 months since the
order was finalized or reviewed

»  There has been a significant change
of circumstance since your order was
finalized. (You must show proof of
the change.) Examples of significant
changes are:

»  Physical custody of the child have
changed

»  Income of one or both parents have
changed

»  Number of children involved have
changed

»  Needs of the child have changed

2. Program Review and Notification

The Program reviews the request and
if it qualifies, gathers information from
all parties and prepares the proposed
modification, if appropriate.

»  Copies are sent to all parties.
The average time to complete a
modification is 30 to 90 days, but may
vary. Sometimes it takes repeated
attempts to serve the proposed
modification on all parties.

3. Opportunity for Response
Parents must respond within 30 days to:
»  Correct information

»  Corrections are reviewed, updated
and an amended proposed order
will be issued

»  An additional 30 days are added
for either parent to take action on
the amended proposed order

» Request a hearing

»  If either parent requests a
hearing, there are more steps
(see the hearings section for more
information)

»  Consent to the terms of the
modification
Timeline for modi'FJing
a child guP?oﬁ order

Modification usually takes between 30 and 90
days. It may take more or less time, depending
on the family’s needs.

You may also be able to seek a modification
in court. Contact your local court for
information.

The effective date of a modified child support
order is the date the proposed order is served
on the other (non-requesting) parent.

Stepe for adminictrative
hearinge
1. Talk to a case manager to request a hearing

2. Case Manager will send a Request for
Hearing to the Office of Administrative
Hearings (OAH)

3. OAH will contact the parents to schedule
a hearing

»  Parents should receive a hearing
date within 30 to 60 days

4. Hearing occurs by telephone with an
Administrative Law Judge

5. Administrative Law Judge makes a
final decision

»  OAH mails the decision to the parents
and case manager within 30 to 45
days

6. The Oregon Child Support Program begins
enforcing the new child support order

If a parent disagrees with the final decision,
they may appeal by filing a petition for
review in a circuit court within 60 days of the
Program filing the final order in court.



