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Bias is on the Rise in
Clackamas County

Bias reports in Clackamas County are up
366 percent since 2020. But these

numbers are only the tip of the iceberg.
The U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics 84 classified
estimates that, nationally, 97 percent of 289 bias as criminal

What happens to bias crime
after it’s reported to hotline?
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Bias reports in Clackamas County have
far exceeded the rise in statewide
reports. Targeting follows state and
national trends: perpetrators most
commonly target victims based on
perceived race or color. Reports
overwhelmingly describe anti-Black bias.
Perpetrators’ anti-immigrant and
Islamophobic bias are also significant
motivating factors in many reports.
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Bias in Clackamas County A Snapshot

Oregon’s New Bias Laws

As of January 1, 2020, it is a crime in
Oregon to intentionally = damage
someone’s property or subject them to
offensive  physical contact, physical
violence, or explicit threats motivated by
bias against the victim’s perceived race,
color, religion, sexual orientation, gender
identity, disability, or national origin.
Oregon’s new bias laws also provide that:

e People who witness or experience
bias can call Oregon’s Bias Response
Hotline and connect with a caring
advocate who will help them find
victim services in their community,
develop a safety plan, and report
incidents to law enforcement if they
choose.

e Law enforcement officers must refer
victims of bias incidents to the hotline
or qualified local victim services in
their communities.

e The state must track all reports of
bias and share them in an annual
report from the Criminal Justice
Commission.
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Clackamas County Can
Stand up to Hate

Any evidence of
bias motivation

Report incidents to the Bias Response Hotline
1-844-924-BIAS  (1-844-924-2427). We
accept all Relay calls.

Visit StandAgainstHate.Oregon.gov to track
monthly reports to the hotline, find resources

for crime victims, download the Law
Enforcement Bias Response Toolkit, and
more.

Learn how to prevent and safely intervene in
bias incidents. Hollaback! offers online
training and a bystander intervention guide at

ihollaback.org.
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