

Oregon Department of Justice Oregon Child Support Program

Supporting Parents to Support Children

Division of Child Support PO Box 14680 Salem OR 97309 800-850-0228 OregonChildSupport.gov

2023 Oregon Child Support Program Annual Notice

Oregon Child Support Program Case Number:

Laws and Rules	Why did I receive this notice and where can I get more information?
ORS 25.025 ORS 25.384	 We send this notice each year to everyone with a child support case.* Visit our website OregonChildSupport.gov to find the following: How to sign up for an online account to get specific information about your child support case, including payment information Information about the services we provide* Office locations, hours, and phone numbers Forms and publications Veterans resources Safety resources For case information, you may also call Customer Service at 800-850-0228 during regular business hours. *If child support is no longer owed but spousal support remains, the services we provide on your case are different than those listed below. Visit OregonChildSupport.gov for more information about spousal support only
	services. What do I have to report to the Oregion Child Support Program?
ORS 25.020	 What do I have to report to the Oregon Child Support Program? Within 10 days of a change, you must update us with your new: Address Phone number Driver license number Employment (including your employer's address and phone number) Healthcare coverage for the children
	You can make changes through your online account by calling Customer Service at 800-850-0228 or contacting your child support office.
	If you are an active duty servicemember, contact us. Letting us know your military status helps us protect your service member rights.

	Can I have my child support order changed?
ORS 25.287 45 CFR 303.8	We can review and modify your order if it is at least 35 months old or you show proof of a substantial change of circumstances. The child support amount may go up or down. To request a review, go to Submit Forms under the Documents section of your online account, see <i>OregonChildSupport.gov/forms</i> , or contact your case manager. If you don't know who your case manager is, check your online account or call Customer Service at 800-850-0228.
	We cannot change parenting time or custody. See OregonChildSupport.gov/parentingtime or contact an attorney.
	What if custody changes?
ORS 25.025 ORS 18.225 to ORS 18.235 ORS 25.527 OAR 137-055-5510	A court order that changes custody or parenting time may also change child support. If it did not, contact your case manager to request a review and modification of the support order.
	If physical custody changes temporarily, the parent who receives support may choose to "satisfy" the amount owed while the children are with the other parent. This tells the Oregon Child Support Program and the court that support is not owed for that period. To file a satisfaction, contact your case manager.
	If the parent who pays support has physical custody of all the children for at least a month, that parent may request a credit against past-due child support. Contact your case manager to request a credit.
	If I am the parent who pays support,
	do I have to pay by income withholding?
ORS 25.378 ORS 25.384 ORS 25.396 OAR 137-055-4080	 Usually, child support must be paid by income withholding. However, you may be able to make electronic payments from your bank account if: You are current on your child support obligation, and All parties agree (including any child attending school who is at least age 18 and under age 21).
	If you do not work for an employer, you may pay by check or electronically. See OregonChildSupport.gov/payments.
	Different payment options apply when a child is in foster care. Contact your case manager for more information.
	If I am the parent who pays support, will you report my child support obligation to credit reporting agencies?
15 USC 1681a (b), (d) and (j) 15 USC 1681 §2 ORS 25.650 45 CFR 303.7 OAR 137-055-4560	The Oregon Child Support Program is required to report all delinquent cases to consumer credit reporting agencies, including past-due amounts. Prior to reporting delinquent cases, we will send you a notice of our intent to report the delinquency. You will have 30 days to pay the required monthly amount or request a review of our records. An unpaid support balance is not delinquent if you are making the required monthly payment.

	If I am the parent who pays support,
NACHA Rules & Guidelines Sec. V Ch. 45 and 46	what happens if my check is rejected by my bank? The Oregon Child Support Program may try to deposit your rejected check electronically again up to two times. Each attempt will show as a debit transaction on your bank statement. Dishonored payment fees may apply.
	What fees are required to receive child support services?
ORS 25.150 ORS 180.345 45 CFR 302.33 OAR 137-055-1080	If you applied for child support services, we may deduct a \$1 fee from your first payment. Federal law requires an annual fee on child support cases only for families who have never received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) cash benefits. The annual fee of \$35 is withheld from child support payments after the family receives \$550 during the federal fiscal year. The federal fiscal year runs from October 1 to September 30. No annual fee is charged if less than \$550 is collected. If we collect past-due support on your case from the paying parent's federal or state tax refund, a collection fee will be deducted from the amount distributed to the person receiving support. IRS adjusts the federal fee every year. Effective October 1, 2022, the IRS fee is \$21.44 per collection from federal tax refunds. The Oregon Department of Revenue charges 3.5 percent of the amount collected from state tax refunds. Other fees may apply in certain circumstances.
	If I am the person who receives support, how will
	the Oregon Child Support Program send my support payments?
OAR 137-055-6020	We will automatically send you a ReliaCard® Visa, which is a debit card in your name where we deposit your child support payments. If you would rather receive your payments directly in your checking or savings account, you may sign up for direct deposit.
	Find more information at OregonChildSupport.gov/ReceiveSupport.
	How can the Oregon Child Support Program help keep my family safe?
42 USC §405(c)(2)(C) ORS 25.020 ORS 25.080 ORS 192.820 to ORS 192.868	If you are concerned about safety, contact your child support case manager or your Oregon Department of Human Services worker to discuss options. More information can be found at <i>OregonChildSupport.gov/safety</i> .

	What if I have a complaint?
OAR 137-055-1600	Our goal is to give you fair, professional, courteous, and accurate service. If you believe you did not receive high-quality service from one of our offices, contact a supervisor at that office. If you are unable to resolve the issue with the supervisor, you may contact Constituent Services at 503-947-4337. You can also submit a grievance form at any time. The form is available on our website at <i>OregonChildSupport.gov/forms</i> or at any Oregon Child Support Program office.
	If your complaint is about a decision or action required by federal or state law, we may not be able to resolve the issue. We will explain the reason for our decision.
	The Oregon Child Support Program complies with applicable federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate based on race, color, national origin, disability, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age.