

Expectations of Law Enforcement When Making a Report

ACCE	ESSIBILITY
	The officer should inquire about language interpretation needs. The officer must make interpretation services available to you at no cost. Law enforcement should not use your family member or child to interpret. The officer should inquire about any other accessibility needs that you may have.
VICT	IM RIGHTS
	You have the right to be treated with dignity and respect. You have the right to a meaningful role in the criminal justice process. You have the right to a free interpreter to exercise any constitutional victim right during the criminal justice process, including simply watching a hearing in court. You have the right to have a support person with you at every hearing or meeting you have during the criminal justice process (except Grand Jury and a Child Abuse Assessment). The person cannot be a witness to the incident or crime that is being investigated, and must be at least 18 years old. It could be a friend, family member, community leader, or another support person.
DOC	UMENTATION
The o	
	must secure and preserve evidence where the crime occurred, including
	online.
	should explore options for a safe place for you to report (i.e., a location of
	your choice that is private, secure, and away from the perpetrator).

	should collect/photograph any supporting evidence such as notes, photos, graffiti, and symbolic objects used. For example: an officer may want to document and photograph what color spray paint was used to paint a hate symbol on a building, as it may have meaning later in the investigation.
	should interview and document conversations with witnesses, including people who were not there at the time of the crime, but may have information or evidence about the crime.
	should inquire about pain or injury that you experienced. Often they'll use a pain scale to inquire about this. Remember, charges are often connected to level of injury, so do not "tough it out."
	should inquire about your financial losses. Remember to assign a value to everything, even if the loss was a family heirloom. Priceless means \$0 in the legal world, so put a price on it.
	should inquire about bias motivation. What slurs did you hear? What makes you believe the perpetrator was motivated by bias against your actual or perceived protected class?
	should provide you with their contact information along with the report number. You may also ask for the officer's badge number.
	You can ask law enforcement to write a police report to document a bias incident, even if a crime did not occur. Law enforcement may decline this request, but you can always ask.
REFERRALS AND FOLLOW-UP	
	Oregon law requires law enforcement to refer victim of bias incidents to qualifying local victim services or Oregon's statewide <u>Bias Response Hotline</u> .
	Officers should tell you what to expect next, and who you can contact to find out more. Will they be calling you for follow-up? Do you need to call the prosecutor's office? Is someone being arrested? Is there a no contact order? Is there not enough evidence to arrest someone for a crime?
	Officers cannot share your information with ICE, unless compelled by an order signed by a judge.