Crime Victims' Compensation

Oregon Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program was created to assist victims of violent crime with certain expenses associated with the crime. Eligible crimes include domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, assault, homicide, hate/bias crimes, and other crimes resulting in physical or psychological injury.

In the aftermath of a crime, CVC works to ease the financial burden suffered by the crime victim and their family. The CVC Program cannot pay for lost items or property damage.

Am I Eligible for CVC?

To receive financial help from CVC, you must **be a victim of a compensable crime** that happened in Oregon.

Compensable crime means an intentional, reckless, or criminal act (not an accident) by a person that causes injury or death to another person.

Reporting Requirements

You may report your crime in one of the following ways:

- Report to law enforcement
- Report to a medical or mental health provider
- Obtain a protective order
- Obtain a forensic medical exam due to sexual assault or strangulation

However, if you did not report a compensable crime, you may still qualify for a Counseling Only benefit.

Compensation for Counseling Only

Victims of a compensable crime or incident who do not meet reporting requirements may still qualify for compensation for counseling expenses up to \$5,000. Contact CVC for more information at 503-378-3758 or cvssd@doj.state.or.us.

What Does CVC Pay For?

We pay health and service providers for crime-related expenses, including:

• Medical and counseling services, up to \$20,000.

- In cases of child physical and sex abuse, counseling compensation can include counseling for the victim's family to assist the victim in healing.
- Counseling benefit when reporting requirements for a compensable crime are not met, up to \$5,000.
- Counseling for children who witness domestic violence, up to \$10,000.
- Grief counseling for survivors of a deceased victim, up to \$20,000.
- Counseling benefit for witness to homicide, up to \$5,000.
- Counseling for friends or acquaintances of a deceased victim of a compensable crime who discover the deceased victim's body, up to \$5,000.
- Counseling for family members of an Oregon resident who is a victim of international terrorism, up to \$1,000.
- Rehabilitation services, such as physical therapy, up to \$4,000.
- Reimbursement of mileage (50¢ per mile) for travel to medical and mental health treatment, up to \$3,000.
 - Mileage reimbursement is available only when someone must travel more than 60 miles roundtrip and there are no closer services.
- Documented loss of earnings, up to \$600 weekly, or loss of support for dependent(s) of a deceased victim, up to \$800 weekly, for a maximum of \$20,000.
- Lost wages for parents who provide care to their minor child victim while the child heals from the abuse, up to \$5,000.
 - Intermittent leave for doctor appointments does not qualify.
- Crime scene clean-up, up to \$2,500.
- Funeral expenses, up to \$5,000. Additional benefit available at discretion of CVC.

You are not eligible for CVC if:

- The injury or death resulted from your own criminal conduct.
- The crime involved only property damage or loss.

- The injury or death resulted from a noncriminal event (an accident).
- The crime occurred before CVC became effective in January 1978.

How Do I Submit an Application?

You can apply online, on paper, or in person.

- Apply online at the CVC Portal: <u>doj.state.or.us/cvcportal</u>
- Download a printable application form at <u>doj.state.or.us/compensation.</u>
 Send or email the completed application to:

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 1162 Court Street NE, Salem, OR 97301-4096 Telephone: 503-378-5348 Fax: 503-378-5738 Email: <u>cvssd@doj.state.or.us</u>

 Apply at your local District Attorney's Office Victim Assistance Program or local community-based victim services agency.

What Happens After I Submit an Application?

When CVC receives an application, we review police reports, medical charts, and other information to determine if you're eligible and which CVC benefits you may be eligible for. If you do not meet the reporting requirements, you may still qualify for a counseling benefit. We notify you by mail or email when we receive your application, and then again in **45–60 days** to tell you our claim decision.

Other Compensation

If you have other benefits available (health insurance, auto insurance, workers compensation, Paid Leave Oregon, etc.), you <u>must</u> use those before we can pay expenses. CVC will pay for copays, deductibles, and crime-related treatment that insurance does not cover within the scope of this program.

If you receive crime-related money later (such as restitution or lawsuit settlements) for the same services CVC has paid for, you must pay back to CVC any money that was paid to you.

Learn More About CVC

Visit <u>doj.state.or.us/compensation</u> for more information about the Crime Victims' Compensation Program and other resources from the Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division (CVSSD).

More Resources for Crime Victims and Survivors

Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) <u>doj.state.or.us/ACP</u>

Appellate Advocacy Program (AAP) <u>doj.state.or.us/AAP</u>

Crime Victim Rights doj.state.or.us/CVR

Bias Response Hotline <u>StandAgainstHate.Oregon.gov</u>

Sanctuary Promise Hotline SanctuaryPromise.Oregon.gov PromesaSantuario.Oregon.gov

Hope Card Program doj.state.or.us/hopecard

Save Fund doj.state.or.us/SAVE

Trafficking & Intervention Program doj.state.or.us/htresources

Accessible Materials

For a more accessible version of this brochure, or to learn about other ways to access this information and CVSSD programs, contact us:

Email: cvssd@doj.state.or.us

Call: 503-378-5348 or 1-800-503-7983

Contact Us

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division Oregon Department of Justice 503-378-5348 or 1-800-503-7983 Email: <u>cvssd@doj.state.or.us</u>

Updated 2024

CVC Crime Victims' Compensation Program Oregon Department of Justice 1162 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301–4096



Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC)

Financial help for crime victims and survivors

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division Oregon Department of Justice

> 503-378-5348 1-800-503-7983 doj.state.or.us/victims

Crime Victims' Compensation Portal: doj.state.or.us/cvcportal

Every victim, every crime, every right, every time.