Oregon Department of Justice

Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Department of Justice - Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum
submit button to get updates about the Department of Justice
subscribe to RSS feed   visit Oregon.gov

AG Myers Welcomes National No Call Registry; Prosecutes OR No Call Violators

June 27, 2003

Attorney General Hardy Myers today announced another round of actions taken against violators of Oregon's Do Not Call Law and welcomed today's official implementation of a National Do Not Call Registry by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

"A National Do Not Call Registry gives Oregon consumers an additional tool to fight annoying telemarketing calls to their homes," Myers said. "Over 174,000 Oregonians are currently protected on the Oregon No Call List and, if we are able to interact with the National Registry, that protection could double."

The Oregon Legislature is currently considering a bill that will amend Oregon's current Do Not Call Law to designate the National Do Not Call Registry to serve as the state's list (HB 3329). Passage of the legislation allows the state's list to be merged with the national list. If the Attorney General is authorized by the Legislature to merge the lists, current Oregon No Call subscribers would automatically be registered on the national list.

"The pending legislation is critical for Oregonians who wish to halt unwanted telephone solicitations," Myers explained. "If passed, it will offer consumers the protections of both federal and state law at absolutely no charge."

Beginning today, consumers who have not registered with the state No Call List and want to place their home or cellular numbers on the National Registry may do it online at DONOTCALL.GOV or by telephone at 1-888-382-1222, TTY at 1-866-290-4236. Consumers must call from the phone number they wish to register. Registration is free.

Federal enforcement of the National Do Not Call Registry begins October 1, 2003. All consumers whose numbers are on the registry by August 31, 2003 are expected to notice a downturn in telemarketing calls starting in October. Consumers who register after September 1, 2003, should notice a drop in telemarketing calls within three months of the date they register.

Details about the Oregon Do Not Call Laws and how they may interact with the National Do Not Call Registry can be found at www.doj.state.or.us. Consumers can learn more about the national program at www.ftc.gov and www.fcc.gov/cgb/donotcall.

As part of its continuing aggressive enforcement of the state No Call program, the Oregon Department of Justice today announced court actions against sixteen businesses that violated Oregon's No Call Law. Named in four Assurances of Voluntary Compliance filed yesterday in Marion County Circuit Court are:

  • American Remodeling of Vancouver, Washington $2,000
  • Island Air Filtration of Salem $3,500
  • Lifeline Communications of Oklahoma City, OK $2,000
  • Reliableremodelers.com, Inc. of Beaverton $1,000

Twelve additional companies signed Assurances of Voluntary Compliance for violations of Oregon's No Call Law that were filed in Marion County Circuit Court last month. None of the agreements admit violation of law. Those signing agreements included:

  • A-1 Oregon Carpet Cleaning of Portland $1,250
  • American Debt Relief, Inc. of Largo, Florida $1,500
  • American Standard Mortgage of Portland $3,000
  • Citizens Mortgage Service Corp of Orange, CA $250
  • D.A. Davidson & Co. of Great Falls, Montana $800
  • Executive Mortgage of Gladstone $500
  • Judson Enterprises of Rancho Cordova, CA $2,500
    (doing business as K-Designers)
  • Merit Financial, Inc. of Redmond, Washington $3,000
  • Northwest Mortgage Group, Inc. of Portland $1,000
  • Promotions of America of Canby $500
  • Safety First Systems of Portland $1,000
  • Western American Glass Enterprises of Milwaukie $3,000
    (doing business as The Glass Shop)

Oregonians wanting to register their residential or mobile telephone numbers on the Oregon No Call List may contact the list administrator at 1-877-700-6622 or online at www.ornocall.com. The cost is $6.50 for each number registered for the first year with annual renewals at $3 for each telephone number.

The list is published quarterly for telemarketers, who pay $120 per year. Registration deadlines for subscribing consumers are:

  • By mail-December 1, March 1, June 1 and September 1.
  • Online and telephone-December 10, March 10, June 10 and September 10.

Consumers wanting more information about Oregon's No Call Law and other consumer protection issues may call the Attorney General's consumer hotline at (503) 378-4320 (Salem area only), (503) 229-5576 (Portland area only) or toll-free at 1-877-877-9392. Justice is online at www.doj.state.or.us.

Contact:

Kevin Neely, Justice, (503) 378-6002
Jan Margosian, (503) 947-4333 (media line only) jan.margosian@doj.state.or.us |
email this page print this page check the site map