Oregon Department of Justice

Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Department of Justice - Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum
submit button to get updates about the Department of Justice
subscribe to RSS feed   visit Oregon.gov

AG Warns Oregonians That Without Passage Of HB3329 OR No Call Program Will Perish

August 8, 2003

Attorney General Hardy Myers today reminded Oregonians not on a No Call List that they must register on the National Do Not Call Registry by August 31, 2003 in order to qualify for the initial release of the nationwide list. In signing up, consumers should see a reduction in the number of unwanted telemarketing calls into their homes and on their cell phones. Myers also announced the filing of 15 court actions in Marion County Circuit Court against violators of Oregon's current No Call law.

Oregon's No Call law has been in effect for two and one-half years with more than 179,000 residents in its database. The National Do Not Call Registry, modeled on the states' programs, began registering consumers in July 2003 working toward the August deadline. In October, the Federal Trade Commission will begin enforcing the National Do Not Call Registry.

Registration is free and telephone numbers will remain on the registry for five years unless the number is earlier disconnected or is deleted by consumers. After five years, consumers may renew registrations.

Under current law, the Oregon No Call list and the federal registry are separately maintained records. Consequently, Oregonians are required to sign up for both lists should they want the full protection of both state and federal laws. However, House Bill 3329, which is still awaiting final legislative action, would amend Oregon's current No Call law to allow the Attorney General to designate the National Do Not Call Registry as the state's list. If enacted into law, HB 3329 will allow current Oregon No Call subscribers to be automatically placed on the national registry and those on the national list to be protected by Oregon law. Oregonians would enjoy the protection of both laws for free. The bill also preserves the ability of the Oregon Department of Justice to continue to enforce the Oregon law. If HB 3329 does not pass, the Federal Communications Commission has announced it will preempt the successful Oregon program.

"Passage of HB 3329 will keep nearly half a million dollars in the pockets of Oregonians each year by eliminating the need to pay an enrollment or annual renewal fee. The legislation also will preserve the privacy of the nearly 180,000 citizens already participating in Oregon's program," Myers said. "Without this measure, our program will perish and my office will not have the resources to enforce the new federal program."

Myers announced further that under the Oregon law, fifteen companies signed Assurances of Voluntary Compliance agreeing to not violate the Oregon No Call Law and paid money to the Oregon Department of Justice consumer protection and education fund. The companies and amounts paid are as follows:

  • Access Mortgage of Seattle, Washington $ 2,000
  • American Family Mutual Insurance Company $ 4,500

of Madison, Wisconsin

  • Beltone Hearing Aid Center of Tigard $ 1,000
  • Civic Development Group $10,000

of Edison, New Jersey

  • Dream House Mortgage of Providence, RI $ 500
  • Edward D. Jones & Co. of St. Louis, MO $ 1,000
  • Mortgage Investors Co. $ 6,000

of St. Petersburg, Florida

  • Mortgage Upgrade of Hillsboro $ 3,000
  • National College Assistance Program $ --0--

of Tualatin (ceased doing business)

  • Northstar Fitness Corporation (dba National $ 1,000

Fitness & Racquet Club) of Klamath Falls

  • National Health Care Discount, Inc. of $ 1,000

Sioux City, Iowa

  • Sunterra Pacific of Bellevue, Washington $12,000
  • TTT Marketing $ 2,500

of Irvine, California

  • VICI Marketing, Inc. $ 1,000

of Clearwater, Florida

  • Xentel, Inc. of Ft. Lauderdale, Florida $ 2,000

Oregonians wanting to register for the National Do Not Call Registry may call the FTC's toll free number at 1-888-382-1222, TTY 1-866-290-4236, or register online at DONOTCALL.GOV. Registration is free.

Consumers wanting more information about Oregon's No Call Law and other consumer protection issues may call the Attorney General's consumer hotline at (503) 378-4320 (Salem area only), (503) 229-5576 (Portland area only) or toll-free at 1-877-877-9392. Justice is online at www.doj.state.or.us.

Contact:

Jan Margosian, (503) 947-4333 (media line only) jan.margosian@doj.state.or.us |
email this page print this page check the site map