About the Program
Senate Bill 1552 (2012) directs the Attorney General to establish a residential Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Program with an operative date of July 11, 2012. This program is coordinated by a contractor known as the Mediation Service Provider and guided by rules adopted by the Attorney General.
Information for Homeowners
The Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Program began on July 11, 2012. The program is for two types of homeowners: Homeowners who have received a “Notice of Mediation” from their lender and homeowners who are “at-risk” of default and who wish to mediate with their lender. For additional information regarding the program and access to application forms go to www.ForeclosureMediationOR.org. The program requirements are:
If you have received a “Notice of Mediation” from your lender be sure to respond by the deadline on that notice. (No notices will go out until after July 11, 2012.)
Pay the $200 fee for mediation. (If your income is less than 200% of the federal poverty level you are eligible for a waiver of $150 of the fee.)
Meet with a Housing Counselor. Housing counseling services are free, and a list of qualified housing counseling agencies can be found at www.ForeclosureMediationOR.org.
Additional foreclosure resources:
Information for Beneficiaries, Lenders and Servicers
The program requirements are described in Senate Bill 1552 (Oregon Laws 2012 chapter 112) and in rules adopted by the Attorney General. Beneficiaries may obtain additional information and generate a “Notice of Mediation” by going to www.ForeclosureMediationOR.org.
Exemption. The requirement to enter into mediation does not apply to certain beneficiaries who did not commence more than 250 actions to foreclosure a residential trust deed during the preceding calendar year (SeeOregon Laws 2012 ch 112 Section 2.) A sample form for claiming this exemption is available at: Beneficiary Exemption Affidavit. Once completed, the form may be provided to the Attorney General by emailing a copy to DOJ@foreclosuremediationOR.org or by mailing to: Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation, Oregon Department of Justice, 1162 Court Street NE, Salem, OR 97301-4096. SB 1552 requires this affidavit to be filed "…not later than January 31 in any subsequent calendar year in which the individual, financial institution, mortgage banker or licensee intends to claim the exemption; or (ii) At the time the individual, financial institution, mortgage banker or licensee files a notice of default under ORS 86.735." Links to the sworn affidavits that Beneficiaries have provided to the Attorney General claiming an exemption under Oregon Laws 2012 Chapter 112 section 2(2)(d), are available at:
Exemptions Claimed in 2013
Exemptions Claimed in 2012
Information for Mediators
The Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Program is operated by a Mediation Service Provider (MSP). The MSP is responsible for the recruitment, training and management of all mediators in this program. The minimum qualifications for mediators are set by OAR 137-110-0110.
Training. The Attorney General and the Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Program Mediation Service Provider offered training for mediators during the summer of 2012. For additional information for mediators see www.ForeclosureMediationOR.org/mediators/.
Information for County Clerks
In accordance with SB 1522 Oregon counties will begin collecting recording fees for any Notice of Default recorded on or after July 11th. The Attorney General's portion must be remitted to the Attorney General's Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Fund. Counties may direct those remittances to:
Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation
Oregon Department of Justice
1162 Court Street NE, 2nd Floor
Salem, OR 97301-4096