Oregon’s lemon law extends protection to 2 years or 24,000 miles from the purchase or lease of a new vehicle. If your vehicle is a lemon, you can receive a replacement or refund.
To use the lemon law:
- A part or system under warranty must not be working, and it must be significant enough to substantially reduce the vehicle’s use, value, or safety.
- Each malfunction must be reported to the manufacturer or dealer, who will have an opportunity to fix the problem.
- At least three failed attempts to fix the problem must be made (at least one attempt if the problem is likely to cause injury or death), or the vehicle must be in the shop for 30 or more business days. You should participate in an informal dispute resolution procedure if the manufacturer uses one.
Note that Oregon does not have a 3-day right of rescission for vehicle purchases, which means that unless it is in your sales contract, you cannot return your vehicle without a legal reason.
If you have been sold a lemon contact a private attorney to discuss your options. The Oregon State Bar referral service can help you find an appropriate legal representative and can be reached at (503) 684-3763 or toll-free in Oregon at (800) 452-7636. Please visit www.osbar.org for more information.
Information For Businesses
Applicable State Law: