Public Records Reform

Oregon Sunshine Committee

Oregon Sunshine Committee Meeting, January 31, 2018

In 2017, with the input of the Attorney General’s Public Records Law Reform Task Force, the Oregon legislature passed the most significant improvements to public records access since our law was first enacted. One of those new laws, HB 2101, created the Oregon Sunshine Committee. Like the name suggests, its job is to make sure that Oregon’s sunshine laws are working. A large part of that task involves reviewing the hundreds of exemptions that can keep government information out of public hands, with the goal of creating a more transparent government.

On this page, you can find information about the work of the Oregon Sunshine Committee. Regular meetings are currently scheduled on the third Wednesday of every odd-numbered month (January, March, May, etc.). The Sunshine Committee generally meets in Hearing Room C of the Oregon State Capitol at 1:30 PM. Agendas and meeting materials are accessible from this page. Written comments to the Oregon Sunshine Committee and requests for accommodation can be sent to

Next Sunshine Committee Meeting

Date: 1/19/2022

Time: 1:30 pm

Location: To be determined


Sunshine Committee Members

ORS 192.511 requires committee members to represent a variety of sectors or interest groups.

  • Selena Deckelmann, Director of Engineering at Mozilla Firefox
  • Eileen Eakins, Northwest Local Government Legal Advisors, LLC
  • Charlie Fisher, OSPIRG State Director
  • Karin Johnson, City Recorder for Independence
  • Adrienne Roark, VP and General Manager at KPTV Fox 12
  • Morgan Smith, Polk City Counsel
  • Brent Walth, UO journalism professor
  • Bennett Hall, Special Projects Editor Gazette-Times
  • Kevin Gleim, Public Records Attorney, Office of Governor Kate Brown
  • Stephanie Clark, State Archivist, Office of Secretary of State Shamia Fagan
  • Michael Kron, Special Counsel, Office of Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum
  • Representative Karin Power of Milwaukie (ex officio)
  • Representative Carl Wilson of Grants Pass (ex officio)
  • Senator Kim Thatcher of Keizer (ex officio)
  • Senator Floyd Prozanski of Eugene (ex officio)


Public Records Law Reform Resources

Related Stories

Related Information