You are invited to attend Attorney General Rosenblum’s Fourth Annual Elder Abuse Conference. This year’s conference will take place at the Salishan Spa & Resort in Gleneden Beach, Oregon starting with an optional happy hour on Monday, October 28, 2019 at 4:00 PM and ending on Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at 12:00 PM (Pacific Time).
This a comprehensive conference for law enforcement, district attorneys, deputy district attorneys, U.S. Attorneys, Adult Protective Services, medical professionals, and individuals employed by federal, state or local governments.* Attendees will receive:
- More than 10 hours of in-depth training from experts [9 MCLE credits (Mental Health/Substance Use 0.50, General 2.0, Access to Justice 4.50 and Practical Skills 2.0), and 10.25 clinical CEs. DPSST credit will also be available.]
- Extensive networking and collaboration opportunities
- Two breakfasts
- One lunch
- Snacks and beverages
The cost to attend is $150 a person and does not include lodging. A block of rooms have been reserved at the Salishan Spa & Resort. To reserve a room at the Resort, please visit the website for the conference at https://tinyurl.com/y46sjlrg or contact the Resort directly at 1-800-452-2300. For a list of recommended overflow properties near Salishan, please click here ».
*If you are NOT a government employee and would like to register for the conference, please contact Ellen Klem at Ellen.Klem@doj.state.or.us.
Applications for reduced rate scholarships are now being accepted. Click here to apply ».
Protecting Oregonians from Elder Abuse
Fighting elder abuse is a top priority for the Oregon Department of Justice (DOJ) and Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum. It is especially important as Oregon’s population of older residents continues to grow. In 2014, an estimated 16 percent of Oregonians were 65 or older. By 2030, that number is expected to rise to 20 percent.
Reports of possible elder abuse are also rising. In 2014, more than 38,000 cases of possible abuse were reported in Oregon, according to the Oregon Office of Adult Abuse Prevention and Investigations ». In 2015, this number grew to 43,000 cases – a 13 percent increase in one year.
A National Issue
Nationally, financial abuse costs older adults billions of dollars. Various studies estimate the cost from $2.9 billion per year to many times that amount. Women were nearly twice as likely to be victims of elder financial abuse as men.
Oregon’s Response to Elder Abuse
The Oregon DOJ has taken strong steps to address and prevent this growing epidemic and hold perpetrators accountable.
In September 2016, AG Rosenblum appointed Oregon’s first statewide elder abuse prosecutor. Oregon is only the third state in the country to have a statewide prosecutor devoted entirely to elder abuse. Funding for the new Elder Abuse Unit was the AG’s highest priority for the 2016 legislative session.
The Elder Abuse Unit works with Oregon’s 36 district attorneys and other prosecutors, law enforcement and community partners throughout the state.
Outreach to Older Oregonians
The Oregon DOJ also invests in education and outreach to help seniors avoid financial exploitation, fraud and scams. A statewide speaker program helps Oregonians recognize fraud and abuse, making them less likely to become victims. To request a presentation, download educational materials and more, visit www.oregonconsumer.gov.
Types of Elder Abuse
Types of elder abuse include:
- financial exploitation
- verbal abuse
- physical abuse and abandonment
- sexual abuse
- seclusion and restraint
Warning Signs of Elder Abuse
Victims of elder abuse may be slow to recognize and report the abuse. Too often, victims suffer in silence. For that reason, it is important to recognize the following warning signs.
- Any unexplained injury, or an injury that doesn’t fit with the given explanation.
- Situations where the elder is not given the opportunity to speak for herself or himself without the presence of the caregiver.
- Elders who become extremely withdrawn, non-communicative or non-responsive.
- Unusual depression.
- Frequent arguments between the caregiver and elderly person.
- Sudden changes in financial situations.
- Unpaid bills, overdue rent, utility shut-off notices.
Reporting Elder Abuse and Neglect in Oregon
Possible elder abuse should be reported through Oregon’s toll-free hotline: 1-855-503-SAFE (7233) or on the DHS website ». If it is an emergency please dial 9-1-1.
Oregon attorneys have a mandatory duty to report elder abuse under certain conditions. Read more about Oregon attorneys’ mandatory duty to report elder abuse (PDF) ».
Search Oregon’s Abuse Complaints database
Visit the abuse complaints database to search Substantiated Facility Abuse Complaints ».
- Taking Bold Steps to End Elder Financial Abuse »
- Attorney General Rosenblum Appoints Oregon’s First Elder Abuse Prosecutor »
- Former Malheur County District Attorney Dan Norris is Oregon’s first statewide elder abuse prosecutor »
- AG Rosenblum Applauds Legislature for Funding DOJ’s Elder Abuse Unit »
Some cases of elder abuse also involve Medicaid fraud.