How to Report New Hires to the Oregon DOJ Division of Child Support
Oregon law requires employers to report within 20 days all new hires and re-hires, including temporary staff, to the Division of Child Support of the Oregon Department of Justice. Employers must report the first day of work for each new hire. We use this information to collect child support payments.
A “new hire” is any employee who is required to fill out a W-4 form, or any returning employee who has been absent for more than 60 days.
We recommend employers use the Oregon Employer Services Portal » to report new hires and terminations, as well as update employee or employer information. Using the portal, employers may submit multiple new hires at one time by uploading a spreadsheet or text file with the required information. Employers may also opt to complete the Oregon New Hire Reporting Form (PDF) » and fax to 1-877-877-7415, or return it by mail to:
Division of Child Support
Oregon Department of Justice
4600 25th Ave. NE, Ste. 180
Salem, OR 97301
Contact Employer Services at 1-866-907-2857 or by email at EmplNewHire.firstname.lastname@example.org if you have questions or need help reporting new hires.
For your employee’s privacy and security, please do not email the employee’s full Social Security number. You may include the last four digits of the Social Security number when corresponding via email.