Children at least 18 and under 21 attending school may be entitled to receive child support payments from their parent(s) if there is a current child support order.
This page is an overview of the Child Attending School requirements and processes of the Oregon Child Support Program. If you are working with a child who is attending school and needs assistance from us, please refer them to the Support for Students Under 21 page for assistance.
Child Attending School Requirements
The following requirements (as defined in ORS 107.108 » and OAR 137-055-5110 ») must be met before services will be provided:
- There must be a current child support order or judgment providing for the support.
- Judgment must not be fully satisfied in the court records.
- Child must not be emancipated (married, active military, legally emancipated).
- Child support order or judgment providing for the support of the child must have Child Attending School or ORS 107.108 » language.
Child Attending School laws are different for each state, and not all states allow for support to continue after the age of 18. Eligibility for continued support depends on the laws of the state where the child support order was created. This is true even if Oregon has revised or modified the other state’s order. If you are inquiring about a non-Oregon order and want to see other state requirements, visit the the Intergovernmental Reference Guide ».
As defined in ORS 107.108 » and OAR 137-055-5110 », a Child Attending School is:
- a child of the parties who is unmarried, not active military, and not legally emancipated.
- at least age 18 and under 21.
- enrolled in at least one-half of a full-time course load as defined by the school.
- making satisfactory academic progress as defined by the school.
As defined in ORS 107.108 », a “school” is:
- an educational facility such as a high school, community college, four-year college, or university.
- course of professional, vocational, or technical training, including Job Corps, designed to fit the child for gainful employment.
- high school equivalency course, including but not limited to a General Educational Development (GED) program », an educational program for grade 12 or below, and home schooling.
Reporting and Compliance
- Prior to the child’s 18th birthday, the child must notify the Oregon Child Support Program that they intend to continue to attend school after age 18. The child must provide the name of the school and the expected graduation date or the date when they will stop attending classes.
- A Child Attending School must provide a Written Consent for Disclosure » (unless the child has submitted a Claim of Risk (PDF) ») within 30 days after the beginning of the first term or semester after the child reaches 18 years of age, at the beginning of each academic year thereafter, and as otherwise required by the school.
- A Child Attending School must be enrolled not less than one-half of the course load determined by the school to constitute full-time enrollment.
- A Child Attending School must maintain satisfactory academic progress as defined by the school.
- If changing schools, the Child Attending School must provide the name of the new school and the expected graduation date or the date when they will stop attending classes at the new school. This must happen before the expected graduation date or the date when they will stop attending classes at the previous school.
Eligibility ends at the age of 21, even if the child is continuing in school.
- ORS 107.108 » – Support or Maintenance for Child Attending School
- OAR 137-055-5110 » – Child Attending School
- Intergovernmental Reference Guide »
- CSF 01 1802 (PDF) » – Child Attending School General Information and Requirements
- Confidentiality in Unsafe Situations