Children at least 18 and under 21 and attending school may be entitled to receive child support payments from their parent(s) if there is a current order and the original support order contains language meeting the requirements of ORS 107.108 ».
Child Attending School Requirements
As defined in ORS 107.108 » and OAR 137-055-5110 », a Child Attending School is:
- child of the parties who is unmarried, not active military, and not legally emancipated.
- at least 18 and under 21 years of age.
- enrolled in at least one-half of a full-time course load as defined by the school.
- making satisfactory academic progress as defined by the school.
As defined in ORS 107.108, a school is:
- an educational facility such as a high school, community college, four-year college, or university.
- course of professional, vocational, or technical training, including Job Corps, designed to fit the child for gainful employment.
- high school equivalency course, including but not limited to a General Educational Development (GED) program », an educational program for grade 12 or below, and home schooling.
Reporting and Compliance
- Prior to the child’s 18th birthday, the child must notify the Oregon Child Support Program that the child intends to continue to attend school after age 18. The child must provide the name of the school and the expected graduation date or the date when they will stop attending classes.
- Child Attending School must provide a Written Consent for Disclosure » (unless the child has submitted a Claim of Risk ») within 30 days after the beginning of the first term or semester after the child reaches age 18, at the beginning of each academic year thereafter, and as otherwise required by the school.
- Child Attending School must be enrolled not less than one-half of the course load determined by the school to constitute full-time enrollment.
- Child Attending School must maintain satisfactory academic progress as defined by the school.
- If changing schools, the Child Attending School must provide the name of the new school and the expected graduation date or the date when the child will stop attending classes at the new school. This must happen before the expected graduation date or date when the child will stop attending classes at the previous school.
- If a child who is 18 and under 21 is reinstating or initiating support for a non-Oregon order, the child must provide the Oregon Child Support Program with a letter from the school on school letterhead that is signed and dated by the school registrar. The letter must show the child’s enrollment status and expected graduation date.
Eligibility ends at the age of 21, even if the child is continuing in school.
The child should be provided all necessary documentation. The forms are also available below as printable copies. To send forms and documents needed for return to the Oregon Child Support Program, please send to:
Division of Child Support
Attn: Child Attending School Team
Oregon Department of Justice
PO Box 14680
Salem, OR 97309
- FAQs for Schools Regarding Child Attending School (PDF) »
- CSF 01 1805 » – School Confirmation of Enrollment
- ORS 107.108 » – Support or Maintenance for Child Attending School
- OAR 137-055-5110 » – Child Attending School
- CSF 01 1802 » – Child Attending School General Information and Requirements
- Intergovernmental Reference Guide »
- Confidentiality in Unsafe Situations