Oregon Department of Justice

Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Assistance Fund


2016-2019 VOCA Competitive Request for Application (RFA) *Now Closed*

The Oregon Department of Justice (DOJ), Crime Victims’ Services Division (CVSD) is releasing the 2016-2019 VOCA Competitive Request for Application (RFA) through the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant funds today, Monday May 2, 2016 with an application due date of Monday June 20th, 2016. The VOCA awards for this competitive grant cycle will be from October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2019. Applications must be initiated on or before Friday June 3, 2016 through the CVSD E-Grants system.

The primary purpose of the VOCA funds is to extend and enhance direct services to victims of crime. Eligible organizations must provide services to crime victims and be operated by a public agency or nonprofit organization, Native American Tribe/organization, or a combination of such agencies or organizations. The RFA includes eligibility criteria, general application guidelines, grant application contents, and other relevant information.

Additional RFA Resources:

OVC PMT Information

Subgrantees are required to use the new OVC PMT system found at https://www.ovcpmt.org/ to submit VOCA statistical information quarterly.

Resources for completion of Subgrantee Data Report in OVC PMT:

Federal Civil Rights Requirements

A Civil Rights Requirements page has been added under CVSD Grantee Information. This page provides information and links that will assist Grantees in complying with the civil rights laws and regulations that prohibit discrimination in federally assisted programs or activities, the Limited English Proficiency (LEP) guidelines, and the Equal Employment Opportunity Plans (EEOP) that are required of recipients of VOCA funding through the Oregon Department of Justice Crime Victims’ Services Division (CVSD).

VOCA Overview

Victims of Crime Act of 1984 (VOCA) is the only federal grant program supporting direct assistance services to victims of all types of crimes. The primary purpose of the VOCA victim assistance grant program is to extend and enhance services to victims of crime. The VOCA Federal Guidelines state that services are defined as those efforts that: 1) respond to the emotional and physical needs of crime victims; 2) assist primary and secondary victims of crime to stabilize their lives after a victimization; 3) assist victims to understand and participate in the criminal justice system; and 4) provide victims of crime with a measure of safety and security such as boarding-up broken windows and replacing or repairing locks.

VOCA funds are allocated annually to Oregon’s Department of Justice, Crime Victims’ Services Division and are sub-granted to victim service organizations throughout the state

An agency must meet all of the following federal requirements to receive VOCA funds:

  • Demonstrate a record of providing effective direct services to crime victims;
  • Meet program match requirement;
  • All grantees must utilize volunteers to provide or support direct services;
  • Promote coordinated public and private efforts to assist victims;
  • Assist victims in seeking crime victim compensation benefits;
  • Provide services to crime victims, at no charge, through the VOCA funded project;
  • Maintain confidentiality;
  • Provide services to victims of federal crime on the same basis as victims of state crime;
  • Maintain required civil rights information; and
  • Meet the terms of the Certified Assurances, Special Conditions and other federal rules regulating grants.

For more information please see a brief history of VOCA.

Grant Fund Coordinator contact information:

Cathy Relang, Fund Coordinator
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096