Human Trafficking

The Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000 » defines sex trafficking as the recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision or obtaining of a person for a commercial sex act. It has since been revised twice to include the production of child porn, and that the defense “I didn’t know how old the victim was” will no longer hold in a court of law.

It also acknowledges that demand for commercial sex is the primary cause of human trafficking and that we will not be able to eliminate it without addressing the demand.

Report Trafficking Behavior

For more information, please visit the National Human Trafficking Resource Center » or call 1-888-373-7888.

Definition of Exploitation

The Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) is any activity where the child is treated as a commercial and sexual object to be used, sold or traded in exchange for something of value.

For more information, please visit the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children » or call 1-800-THE-LOST.

County Trafficking Intervention Coordinators

If you are curious about efforts being done in your county or how to get involved, please contact your county team lead or the statewide trafficking intervention coordinator Amanda Swanson at CombatingTrafficking@doj.state.or.us.

Clackamas County

Task Force: Clackamas County Sex Trafficking Multidisciplinary Team (MDT)
Lead: Allie Martin, allie@safetycompass.org
Co-lead: Rusty Amos, RussellAmo@co.clackamas.or.us

Deschutes County

Task Force: Deschutes County Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) Response Team
Website: www.werespond.org
Lead: Monica Desmond, mdesmond@jbarj.org
Co-lead: Ashley Beatty, Ashley.Beatty@dcda.us

Douglas County

Task Force: Douglas County CSEC Response Team
Lead: Marion Pearson, MarionPearson@chiwest.com

Jackson County

Task Force: Jackson County Coalition Against Sex Trafficking
Lead: Kim Caplan, Kim@community-works.org

Klamath County*

Task Force: Klamath County Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Cali MacEachen, cali.maceachen@martashouse.org

Lane County

Task Force: Lane County CSEC MDT
Website: ecaseylane.org
Lead: Tamara LeRoy, intervention@sass-lane.org
Co-lead: Sarah Stewart, Sarah@kidsfirstcenter.net

Lincoln County*

Task Force:
Lead: Paul Schrader, director@lccac.com

Malheur County*

Task Force: Tri-County against Trafficking Task Force “TCAT”
Website: www.tcatt.org
Lead: Amanda Barry, philippians413ministriesllc@gmail.com
Co-lead: Sara Runnels, Sara.Runnels@malheurco.org

Marion County

Task Force: Marion County Human Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Heidi Walker, heidi@safetycompass.org 
Co-lead: Christine Herrman, CHerrman@co.marion.or.us 

Mid-Columbia (Wasco, Gilliam, Sherman, Hood River, Wheeler)

Task Force: Mid-Columbia Human Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Shannon O’Brien, traffickingcoordinator@mchttf.org

Multnomah County

Task Force: Multnomah County Sex Trafficking Collaborative
Website: sites.google.com/multco.us/trafficking/home
Lead: Natalie Weaver, Natalie.Weaver@multco.us

Umatilla County*

Task Force:
Lead: Tracy Pozar, tpozar@guardiancarecentercaic.org

Washington County

Task Force: Washington County Human Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Esther Nelson, esther@safetycompass.org
Co-lead: Allison Brown, Allison_brown@co.washington.or.us

*Not yet formally certified

For statewide questions, please contact the Human Trafficking Intervention Coordinator:
Amanda Swanson
combatingtrafficking@doj.state.or.us 
Desk: 971-673-3829
Cell: 503-559-8471

We recognize that people experiencing crime have varied needs. For information about other resources that may be helpful to you, please see 211info.org ».