Exploitation and Sex Trafficking

The Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000 » defines sex trafficking as the recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision or obtaining of a person for a commercial sex act. It has since been revised twice to include the production of child porn, and that the defense “I didn’t know how old the victim was” will no longer hold in a court of law.

It also acknowledges that demand for commercial sex is the primary cause of human trafficking and that we will not be able to eliminate it without addressing the demand.

Report Trafficking Behavior

If you are a victim of human trafficking or have information about a possible trafficking situation, please visit the National Human Trafficking Resource Center » or call 1-888-373-7888.

Definition of Exploitation

The Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) is any activity where the child is treated as a commercial and sexual object to be used, sold or traded in exchange for something of value.

For more information, please visit the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children » or call 1-800-THE-LOST.

County Trafficking Intervention Coordinators

If you are curious about efforts being done in your county or how to get involved, please contact your county team lead or the statewide trafficking intervention coordinator Amanda Monaco at CombatingTrafficking@doj.state.or.us.

Clackamas County

Task Force: Clackamas County Sex Trafficking Multidisciplinary Team (MDT)
Lead: Sunny Petit, sunny@safetycompass.org, 971-719-0025
Co-lead: Rusty Amos, russellamo@co.clackamas.or.us,  503-655-8470

Deschutes County

Task Force: Deschutes County Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) Response Team
Lead: Mel Parker, mparker@jbarj.org541-647-4485
Co-lead: Ashley Beatty, Ashley.Beatty@dcda.us, 541-317-3186

Douglas County

Task Force: Douglas County CSEC Response Team
Lead: Marion Kotowski, MarionKotowski@chiwest.com, 541-677-6531

Klamath County

Task Force: Klamath County Trafficking Task Force
Contact: Christy David, christy.david@martashouse.org, 541-884-0309

Lane County

Task Force: Lane County CSEC MDT
Lead: Sarah Stewart, Sarah@kidsfirstcenter.net, 541-682-3938

Malheur County

Task Force: Tri-County Again Trafficking Task Force “TCAT”
Lead: Charlee Clarke, Charlee.Clark@malheurco.org, 541-889-6316

Marion County

Task Force: Marion County Human Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Kelli Russell, kelli@safetycompass.org, 971-275-5293
Co-lead: Tiffany Underwood, tunderwood@co.marion.or.us503-373-4381

Multnomah County

Task Force: Multnomah County Sex Trafficking Collaborative
Lead: Natalie Weaver, Natalie.Weaver@multco.us, 503-988-8371

Washington County

Task Force: Washington County Human Trafficking Task Force
Lead: Allie Martin, allie@safetycompass.org, 971-235-0021
Co-lead: Allison Brown, Allison_brown@co.washington.or.us, 503-846-8671

We recognize that people experiencing crime have varied needs. For information about other resources that may be helpful to you, please see 211info.org ».